The Mummy *Spoiler Alert*

  

Yesterday I had the pleasure of seeing The Mummy with my son, Tre’. I wasn’t sure if it was connected with the previous mummy movies but was glad to see it was a standalone. The movie centered around an ancient Eyptian story about the sole heir to the throne turning wicked and being banished to a tomb and buried alive. 

Tom Cruise and  Anabella Wallis play partners who have the misfortune of unearthing this now demon named Ahmanet( Sophia Boutella).  She is one determined, mean, evil spirit…you get my point. The chick is pure terror. As soon as she is awakened by Cruise’s character Nick she starts killing people and turning them into her personal slaves for evil. 

In the meantime Nick and Jenny are trying to uncover more information while not being sucked into Ahmanet’s claws.  There are strong supportive characters like Courtney Vance, Russell Crowe and Jack Johnson who provide comedy and depth to the film. But the plot and characters was not what held my attention . First I have to tell you I’m a very analytical person. I see meaning in most things. I hope I don’t freak you out.

Okay are you still here?  I usually don’t watch thriller movies but with my son I end up with super heroes, fantasy, action or thrillers. In this movie Ahmanet represented the devil. She was an evil spirit who wanted to be worshipped and served. Near the end of the movie she asked Nick to come to her, to succum to her will. She didn’t want to make him or even force him. She wanted him know how it felt to be powerful; to have eternal life. Not the eternal life I think of when referencing God, but the trickery that satan uses to tempt. 

The final test of this film was to see if Nick was a good man, or merely average. But what is a good man and aren’t we all mostly good with a little wickedness?  This movie wasn’t my normal genre but it left me feeling introspective and for that I give it 4 stars. 

3 thoughts on “The Mummy *Spoiler Alert*

Leave a Reply

