The Jambayala Tour 


It’s 11:00 and I am just now rolling out of bed. I’m not a bum and I don’t have a hangover. I woke up in need of a B12 drip with the lyrics of Twentylemhunnidmillion in my head. “ Ain’t no mo free, ain’t no mo free. I paid that fee.” My favorite part of this song is the bridge though. “How many times did I do you dirty but you never left me? Every time I messed around. How many times you should’ve left me but you the only one who gets me and you never let me down? How many times I made the wrong choice and ignored you but you never ever took my crown?”

Earlier this week my 23 yr old daughter came in hype and told me one of her favorite rappers would be in Dallas on Friday. “What you gotta do Friday? Aha Gazelle will be here.” All I knew was that’s the dude who raps, sings, and produces his own music. His singing voice reminded me of Bryson Tiller and his flow and energy is something I’ve never heard.

All week we vibed to all of the mixtapes. My favorites were Trilliam 1 &2. We had the soundbar speakers falling off of the cabinet. In the car we had our heads bobbing waiting on 7/7/17 to arrive. That afternoon we shopped for our fits got cute and waited for 7:30 to arrive. The Prophet Bar had a small gathering when we arrived. We checked each other out so we could see what kinda vibe would fill the club.

We waited a long time but don’t trip, it was worth it. As soon as we found a table my daughter grabbed her T-shirt which sold like hotcakes.There were a lot of fun and high energy opening acts to fill the time. Just when we couldn’t wait any longer this tall, overwhelming, man comes out and The Aha Show dropped. Aha grooved his way out on the stage and gave us that smile. He had us from jump! Folks started coming in from out in the lobby and rushed the floor. There were so many standout parts of this MOVIE!

All White Party was so lit and the crowd rocked back and forth. We helped him out on the high notes. My daughter had given me the background on this song so I knew it had greater meaning. Y’all can look that up on your own time. When the beat dropped on Supreme he made a face like okay it’s time for me to stunt a little. My favorite lyrics are, “Im feeling supreme, I know they mad at me.They told me not to mention God or say that I believe. They placing limitations tryna tell me what to be. They must forgot I’m from the same place as Master P.”

He stopped to talk to us a little and let us know he was single. Also to give the guys some game to holla at the nearest cutie. Glow Girl is where he speaks directly to the women and let’s us know how special we are and how we should shine and be confident. I fell in love with him again here. He again flashed that smile at the end and then it was party time.

Elevator, All Gold Party and Momma’s House feat Fiji turned everything way the heck up. I’m so glad Aha reminded us to be ourselves. I don’t know what everyone else was doing but my daughter and I were having a PARTY! We went through a bottle of water and a Sprite. Her aha. shirt was soaked. Then my absolute favorite joint dropped. Keep it in the Family. That one just makes me feel good and the whole crowed danced together. We all had the arm in the air on “Shoot my shot like Jordan.”

There were a few disappointments. You know how it is when you just want a few more of your personal faves? They had to end the show to start the meet & greet. So while I sit and write this review I am blasting Carpool, Unbothered and The Price is Always Right. It’s cool though because I’m a new fan and I plan to rep Dallas anytime Aha is in town.

There seems to be some controversy about what this kind of music is called. Is it hip hop? Rap? Is it Christian Hip Hop? Should we be twerking or jumping up and down? For me this is music that makes me feel good. The lyrical content contains bars that make you think and want to learn more. The party music is fun and energizing and you are literally worshipping. This music doesn’t need a box or a title. It’s Aha.

One thought on “The Jambayala Tour 

  1. Yesss! Finally someone who understands and sees the deepness of this! I was talking to my bro earlier about the negative things I’ve seen about the show, but this is a breath of fresh air! Aha is steering his lane like he should and giving a great testimony along with an impactful message.. “for those who have an ear, let them hear….”

    Like

Leave a Reply

